Georgetown, Kentucky

Religious Support for Fairness

Even among churches that oppose gay marriage, many mainstream Christian denominations endorse LGBT non-discrimination. And many community faith leaders have specifically endorsed a Fairness ordinance for Georgetown.

Denominational Guidance

  1. Episcopal – “This General Convention expresses its conviction that homosexual persons are entitled to equal protection of the laws with all other citizens, and calls upon our society to see that such protection is provided in actuality.” (General Convention, Resolution 1976-A071). The Episcopal Church also specifically supports a proposed federal LGBT non-discrimination bill. (Resolution 2009-C048)
  2. Presbyterian (USA) – “Vigilance must be exercised to oppose federal, state, and local legislation that discriminates against persons on the basis of sexual orientation and to initiate and support federal, state, or local legislation that prohibits discrimination against persons on the basis of sexual orientation in employment, housing, and public accommodations. . . . ” (UPCUSA Policy on Homosexuality, 1978)
  3. Catholic – “[Homosexuals] must be accepted with respect, compassion, and sensitivity. Every sign of unjust discrimination in their regard should be avoided.” (Catechism of the Catholic Church, 1995, §2358)
  4. Methodist – “Certain basic human rights and civil liberties are due all persons. We are committed to supporting those rights and liberties for all persons, regardless of sexual orientation. . . .” (Book of Discipline of the United Methodist Church, 2016, §162.J)

Local Support

  • Charles Bugg, Retired Pastor
  • T. R. Clark, Associate Professor of Religion
  • Rev. Amelia Cloud, D.O.C.
  • John Inscore Essick, Associate Professor of Church History, Baptist Seminary of Kentucky
  • Sharon Felton, Minister to Students
  • Robert M. Fox, Jr., Minister
  • Greg Gallaher, Senior Pastor, Georgetown United Methodist Church
  • Reginald E. Gentry, D.Minn., retired psychiatric hospital chaplain
  • Dalen C. Jackson, Professor, Baptist Seminary of Kentucky
  • Amanda Langlands, Minister of Children and Education
  • Laura R. Levins, Assistant Professor, Baptist Seminary of Kentucky
  • Mark Medley, Associate Professor, Baptist Seminary of Kentucky
  • Wade Rowatt, Senior Professor, Baptist Seminary of Kentucky
  • Ryan Shrauner, Librarian, Baptist Seminary of Kentucky